Athletic department news

Fill out sports forms here:
https://comstockpublic.rankonesport.com/New/Home.aspx

Winter Sports First Practice Dates

November 11, 2019

HS Girls Basketball - 3:15-5:30pm at HS
HS Competitive Cheer - 5-6:30pm at MS
November 18, 2019
JV & F Boys Basketball - 3-5pm at HS
V Boys Basketball - 5-7pm at HS
Boys & Girls Bowling - 4-6pm at Eastland Bowl
Wrestling - 3:30-5:30pm at HS
HOCKEY

We now are in a co-op in Hockey with several surrounding schools.  If your son/daughter has interest in playing hockey, please call the athletic office at 269-250-8711 for more information.

January 5, 2020

6th-8th Girls Basketball - TBA
6th-8th Wrestling - TBA

 

Physical and Form Reminder:
Each participant must have a physical on file dated after April 15, 2019 with the athletic office along with forms signed electronically at www.rankonesport.com.  

Please Contact the Head Coach with any questions.

Fall Head Coaches
Football - Jason Hayes - hayesj@comstockps.org
Volleyball - Sarah Vanwormer - sevanwormer@gmail.com
Boys Soccer - Justin Ansel - anselj@comstockps.org
Cross Country - Jordan Staley - jordanstaley78@yahoo.com
Girls Golf - Joe Kiss - josephkkiss@gmail.com
Sideline Cheer - Natalie Miles - natalie.f.miles@gmail.com
MS Boys Soccer - Mubark Hasan - mubarkhasan10@gmail.com
MS Volleyball - Becky Simison - simisonr@comstockps.org
MS Volleyball - Katie Leaders - leadersk@comstockps.org
MS Cross Country - Anne Meulenberg-Munn -
a.meulenberg.munn@gmail.com


Winter Head Coaches

V Girls Basketball - Ernie Ramirez - ernie2255@yahoo.com
JV Girls Basketball - Montana Martin - mmartin15@my.trine.edu
Competitive Cheer - Natalie Miles - natalie.f.miles@gmail.com
V Boys Basketball - Josh Beeke - jbeeke12@yahoo.com
JV Boys Basketball - Jimmy Cotter - cotterj@comstockps.org
F Boys Basketball - Greg Waddell - gwaddell12@gmail.com
Wrestling - Jason Hayes - hayesj@comstockps.org
8th Boys Basketball - Paul Kampen - kampen3135@gmail.com
7th Boys Basketball - Shawn Baker - baker.shawn18@yahoo.com
8th Girls Basketball - Justin Ansel - anselj@comstockps.org
7th Girls Basketball - Katie Leaders - leadersk@comstockps.org
MS Wrestling - OPEN

Spring Head Coaches
Baseball - Jeremy Followell - jeremy.w.followell@gmail.com
Softball - Chuck Blades - charles.e.blades@gmail.com
Girls Tennis - OPEN
Track & Field - Jordan Staley - jordanstaley78@yahoo.com
Boys Golf - Joe Kiss - josephkkiss@gmail.com
Girls Soccer - OPEN

Hall of fame nominations
The Comstock Hall of Fame committee is accepting nominations for the 2020 induction.  Nominations must be received by the athletic director by November 1 to be included in the process for the 2020 induction.  A nomination form  can be found online at www.comstockps.org/halloffame. Please call Justin Ansel with any questions at 269- 250-8711.

Sportsmanlike Expectations

A good sport is a true leader within the school and the community. As an athlete, parent or fan of our school, the following points represent sportsmanship behavior you shall display:

  1. Accept and understand the seriousness of your responsibility and the privilege of representing your school and community. Conduct yourself in an exemplary manner before, during, and after contests and events.

  2. Players should learn the rules of their sport thoroughly and discuss them with parents, fans, fellow students, and elementary students to assist in achieving a better understanding and appreciation of the competition.

  3. Treat opponents the way you would like to be treated.

  4. Omit intimidating behavior, including taunting, or making any kind of derogatory remarks to your opponents during the game, especially comments of ethnic, racial, or sexual nature. This is not acceptable behavior.

  5. Wish opponents good luck before the game in a sincere manner.

  6. Respect the integrity and judgment of game officials. Treating them with respect, even if you disagree with their judgment, will make a positive impression of you, your team, and your school in the eyes of the officials and all people at the event.

  7. Win with humility; lose with grace. Do both with dignity.

  8. Athletic events are among the most popular school activities for participants and spectators. These games and competitions provide another learning experience in life. Integrity, fairness, respect, and the principles of good sportsmanship are lifetime values enhanced through athletics.

  9. Parents need to wait 24 hours before approaching a coach with issues from a contest. This gives ample time for both the parent and coach to reflect on the contest and be able to discuss the issue rationally.

  10. It is expected that all fans and athletes conduct themselves in an orderly and self-disciplined manner at all times, both on and off school property throughout the calendar year. Appearance and personal hygiene should be appropriate for travel and other team appearances and consistent with the expectations of the coach, school district, and other team members.

Follow Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Subscribe to Our Youtube E-Mail Us

information

Comstock Athletics
Justin Ansel, Director

2107 N. 26th Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49048

Phone: (269) 250-8711
Fax: (269) 250-8713 

DISTRICT news